Agenda

9:00-9:30 AM

DOORS OPEN

Please arrive by 9:15 AM CT for security screening and networking on November 3, 2021.

9:00-9:30AM CT | 8:00-8:30 AM MT

Location: 2943 SMU Boulevard, Dallas, TX 75205

Virtual Link: TBA

9:30-9:45 AM

WELCOME

IN IT TOGETHER – THE FUTURE OF CONSERVATION
The future of conservation, just like Texas’s beautiful landscape and leadership role in industry, is ever-evolving. Texan by Nature’s annual Future of Conservation Summit explores new models, return on conservation metrics, and best-in-class collaborations with the goal of inspiring new partnerships and driving conservation innovation and impact. Each year, leaders from all sectors gather to imagine, discuss, and enact a future that benefits Texas’ people, prosperity, and natural resources.

9:30-9:45 AM CT | 8:30-8:45 AM MT

Remarks from Texan by Nature CEO, Joni Carswell

Location: Auditorium

Virtual Link: TBA

9:45-11:15 AM

COLLABORATIVE CONSERVATION

PANEL 1
Collaboration produces better results — more innovative solutions, deeply engaged team members, and higher loyalty and morale. Research shows that teams working collaboratively stick to the task 64 percent longer than those in solitary endeavors; report higher engagement levels; cite lower fatigue levels, and have a higher success rate. Collaborative conservation initiatives that span business, landowners, communities, and conservation organizations yield similar positive results and accelerate the pace of conservation action.

9:45-11:15 AM CT | 8:45-10:15 AM MT

SPEAKERS:

  • Alexis Baldera, Coastal Program Manager- Audubon Texas
  • Dr. Andy Gluesenkamp, Director of Conservation and Research- San Antonio Zoo
  • Dr. Rachel McCormick, Consul General of Canada in Dallas
  • Ryan Campbell, CEO- Desert Door

Location: Auditorium

Virtual Link: TBA

11:15AM-12:30 PM

LUNCH

Buffet Style

11:15AM-12:30PM CT | 10:15-11:30AM MT

Location: Hall of State

Virtual Link: TBA

12:30-2:05 PM

BUSINESS OF CONSERVATION

PANEL 2
Texas has the world’s 10th largest GDP, 29 million citizens, 10 diverse ecoregions, and incredibly diverse resources. Combining our conservation knowledge with our business acumen and leadership provides an opportunity to increase profitability while advancing sustainable usage of our natural resources. Aligning goals, metrics, and reporting across industry and conservation enables us to better understand and report the total Return on Conservation. From financial recognition to new methods of impact measurement, the business of conservation is progressing.

12:30-2:05PM CT | 11:30AM – 1:05 PM MT

SPEAKERS

  • Jenny Sanders, Coordinator- Texas Longleaf Team
  • Edwin Pinero, President – EcoMetrics
  • Ryan Malone, Sustaining Capital Portfolio Manager – BP America

Location: Auditorium

Virtual Link: TBA

2:05-2:35 PM

BREAK

Networking & Exhibition

2:05-2:35 CT | 1:05-1:35 MT

Location: Cross Hall

Virtual Link: TBA

2:35-4:10 PM

EMERGING MODELS IN CONSERVATION

PANEL 3
As a perennial top state for business start-ups, Texas is no stranger to new models and innovation. This independent, entrepreneurial mindset is on display in conservation as well. New methods and models are driving collaborative, systemic approaches that benefit not only our natural resources but economic development and our health as well. From market-based models to facilitated collectives, emerging models are already impacting the future of conservation.

2:35-4:10 PM CT | 1:35-3:10 PM MT

SPEAKERS

  • Jennifer Chandler, President, Bank of America Dallas
  • Jerae Carlson, VP Sustainability, Communications, and Public Affairs, CEMEX USA
  • Jason Sawyer, Associate Professor, King Ranch Institute for Ranch Management
  • Tom Constantino, CFO, Iron Ox

Location: Auditorium

Virtual Link: TBA

4:10-4:20 PM

RETURN ON CONSERVATION

TxN President & CEO, Joni Carswell

4:10-4:20 PM CT | 3:10-3:20 PM MT

Location: Auditorium

Virtual Link: TBA

4:20-4:30 PM

CLOSING REMARKS

Location: Auditorium

4:20-4:30 PM CT | 3:20-3:30 PM MT

Virtual Link: TBA

4:30-5:30 PM

NETWORKING 

Location: Cross Hall

4:30-5:30 PM CT | 3:30-4:30 PM MT

Virtual Link: TBA

6:00 - 8:00 PM

CELEBRATION DINNER

Location: Hall of State

6:00 – 8:00 PM CT | 5:00 – 7:00 PM MT

Attendees must have a dinner ticket to be seated.

X